top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Kalk

Like Jacob, Like Jesus

Happy Father's Day to the man of my dreams. I couldn't have asked for a better father for our children.

I know no better way to honor you than to describe your traits that reveal God the Father to us all.

In your eyes, I see peace like the stillness of the ocean before a storm.


When examining your wedding ring, I see a covenant that has gone through trials but will not be broken.

In your hands, I see the calluses of a man who refuses to stop working until the job is done.

The words on your tongue are full of grace. Tender and free from bitterness and slander.

In your body, I see imperfect perfection and the posture of a humbled servant of God.


The veins in your arms remind me that you are a fiery spirit with depth and power that often remains unseen.

In your pace, I see slow and patient as you take in and appreciate the detail that surrounds you.

In your legs, I see strength and faith that is steady and unwavering.


Laying on your chest, I sense your desire to provide for and protect your family at all costs.


In your smile, I see the true joy that only shines in one who has overcome much of the hardness of our world.


Your feet are your weakest spot. But even when it hurts, I see you continually moving. Your diligence is sometimes slow, sometimes still, but always returning to forward motion.

The shape and style of your face are orderly and clean, masculine and bold, and attractive without being aggressive.


You are always one of the tallest in the room. You draw attention but never hold it for your own glory.


Your body tells us the story and the person of our Savior.


Then, I look at our son. He shares many of those same traits. How lucky Jaxon is to be blood of your blood. To be born of a man that so closely resembles Jesus. I pray all of our children look at you and see Him.


Like Jacob, Like Jesus



29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page